top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarley Gilliland

Mourning and Dancing

For most of my life, I read the Psalms as King David's personal journal honestly. I always thought, "Wow, he is one emotional guy." Of course, I never voiced this opinion. I have always just nodded along and said, "Mmm, yes. That is nice."


That is, until recently when I went to what must be the world's last Lifeway Christian bookstore and picked up a copy of a She Read's Truth study called Mourning and Dancing that changed my perspective entirely. I don't want to give away too much, but the premise is that we can learn to speak to God in a new way through our grief. Before you roll your eyes (like I did at first,) give it a try, check it out. It is on sale in the link, after all. I love this idea that we can study a lament, like David wrote, and vent our souls in prayer and connection with God at the same time. This had always felt like whining to me, but after about four or five days of the devotional and writing guided laments it finally became more natural.


Using the structure of the lament, we can mourn what is troubling us, remember who God is, remember His promises, and also dance with praise.

I highly recommend broadening your horizons and giving this a try. My prayer is that you would find it as cathartic as I have. It will change your prayer life.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page