top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarley Gilliland

Hi, Welcome to my Crib.

And welcome to this terrifying journey.


A few things you should know, I love an oxford comma, start sentences with "And," love clauses, and -surprise! - she also loves a good dash. My graduate school professors did not share these sentiments (shocking, I know), but I'm not writing for them anymore, am I?


So, buckle up.

If you're reading my blog at this point in my journey, you're a friend. I do not think I have any independent followers right now, #blessit. That being said, you are not forgotten, but the tone of my writing and content of my posts are both going to venture down a path that is less personal.


From now on my blog is probably going to sound more like a documentary, maybe even with some how-to's and DIY features. Why? Because it is time for me to return to my first love and perhaps greatest skill, creating art.


Authors, poets, artists, students, all have written about the creative process. Sometimes, it's agony, sometimes ecstasy. Whatever it may be called, it is always about conflict and the fight for a solution. Sometimes, the conflict wins and we put down our brush or stop writing our story. My own story happens to go just like that.


I let the conflict in my life steal my voice, and stopped creating all together. I saw no solution, and since I couldn't find it, I quit looking for one. Little did I know that the solution isn't always what matters. What matters is that you keep going anyways. So here I am, staring at an empty, clean, studio about to start again. But this time, I think I'll succeed, because the end game isn't the purpose. The creating is. It is what I was made to do.

It's terrifying... To be so out of practice... To have run so far from such an integral part of myself, but I'm looking forward to meeting her again. And it is all thanks to David, who said, you know what, I don't need an office, you need a studio. You need to create to be able to heal and find your best self again.


Cheers to the people who love us a see us better than we do ourselves.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page