top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarley Gilliland

Into the Thicket


Half a year ago, God asked me to start a blog.


I didn't.


But the story doesn't end there.


I had a lot of reasons why I should not write a blog. First among them, "Seriously?"


Why would God ask me to write a blog? No one wants to witness me staring in the mirror and writing about it, least of all myself.


I felt for sure there were other things that needed doing. Selfishly and honestly enough, I felt like I had bigger, more important topics God needed to be spending His time on helping me with.


The more time that passed, the further I drifted into the wilderness. It became harder to hear His voice, feel his touch... But the Holy Spirit faithfully persisted and periodically the reminder of his seemingly strange request would drift through my mind like a breeze in the deep dark woods- tempting, subtle, mysterious, and carrying that sweet aroma of promise...


Soon, I remembered a message I've heard, I wish I could remember where, but the gist of the message was, "If you can't hear God and don't know what to do next, think back to the last thing He asked you to do and do it." And if there is one thing I've learned, there is no coincidence when it comes to the Holy Spirit. When He moves, you should listen. Since I turned my "no" to "yes," my defeated thoughts about starting a blog have begun to turn around.


I have no idea why God wants me to write a blog. I have no idea what He wants me to write about. So welcome to the journey with me. I have no idea where we are going. If you're here, I'm honored that you'd spend your valued time with me. In exchange for the honor you do me, I promise you these things: honesty, obedience, and a sense of humor about it. Bear with me, I smell that sweet aroma of promise and I'm going to chase it into the thicket.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page